Nové Město n. Metují
Approximately 10 km in the direction south of Náchod lies Nové Město nad Metují, a picturesque place in the foothills of the Orlické Mountains and in the Hradec Králové Region. Its historic core is situated on an elevated promontory, which is surrounded by the river Metují and looks extremely picturesque and stylistically uniform. There are many sights in the city itself and a number of tourist attractions in the vicinity. Nové Město nad Metují is also one of the most beautiful Renaissance towns in our country and is considered the gateway to the Eagle Mountains.
Information for visitors
Interesting facts Nové Město n. Metují
History of the town
The history of Nové Město nad Metují is closely connected with the local castle, which was built in 1501 by Jan Černický from Kácov in the places where we can find the chateau today. Shortly after its founding, the town caught fire in 1526 and destroyed not only the castle, but also most of the houses on the square, which were then rebuilt between 1526 and 1548 according to a unified Renaissance plan, which has survived to this day.
In 1623, Albrecht of Wallenstein became the owner of the town, followed by the Trčkovás of Lípa and Walter Leslie.
The turn of the 19th and 20th centuries brought the demolition of the city gates (Regional and Mountain Gates), while the Zázvorka tower with a gate has been preserved. Between 1953 and 1954, the northern side of the square was rebuilt according to the plans of the architect M. Vincík, and since the 19th century, the textile industry has been developing in the town, watch factories and construction machines have been established. The face of the city then changed only after 1990, when a thorough restoration began.
Sights and interesting places
The biggest tourist attraction in Nové Město nad Metují is the chateau, built on the site of a former fortress and later rebuilt in the Baroque style.
A pleasant walk promises the local square with a rectangular floor plan measuring 140 x 60 meters, which is surrounded on three sides by houses with arcades. Despite the fact that some of them underwent reconstruction during the 18th and 19th centuries, all of them retained their original uniformity and the same character and height. Right on the square today is a baroque Marian column, a statue of the Holy Trinity from 1767 and an old town hall from the 16th century.
In the corner of the square we find the Church of the Holy Trinity, which was built shortly after the founding of the city. It was rebuilt in 1540 and today it is a simple hall building with a cross vault and finished with a presbytery.
Among the church monuments, we can also mention the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin Mary or the cemetery church of All Saints.
Author: Andrea Štyndlová