It happens that with narrowed eyes we overlook many gems of our homeland. This is the case of Komařice Castle (Komářice) in the district of České Budějovice. The part that he can miss is also due to his rather poor condition. Nevertheless, experts rank it among the most important Renaissance buildings in our country.
Information for visitors
Interesting facts Komařice (chateau)
Its name is also interesting, which occurs in two forms - with or without a comma. In punctuation, the inhabitants themselves are not clear either, as both possibilities appear on the plaster of houses and on descriptive signs in the village. Near the village in the village of Římov there is a Loreta chapel, an important place of pilgrimage, next to which stands a memorable linden tree - winner of the Tree of the Year 2008 competition.
The castle building has two floors and two wings, with a prism-shaped tower. The first mention of it as a fortress comes from 1346. The current form was given to it in the 1960s by Jiří Kořenský from Terešov and his wife Kristýna from Dráchov. The couple built a new grand residence on the foundations of the original Gothic fortress. The mentioned nobles brought two signs with them and placed them above the entrance gate of their home. One of them is based on the legend of a greedy lady, who does not like any generosity to her subjects, which will soon be reflected in her appearance. It is difficult to say what the owner of the estate had in mind by choosing such a sign. Time passed and the manor was mowed fire after fire. The heirs therefore decided in the 17th century to sell it to a nearby Cistercian monastery in Vyšší Brod.
Finally, it is worth mentioning the Baroque granary, located on the other side of the road in a rather confusing bend. So be careful when you observe the already beautified beauty from the outside today.
Author: Marcela Horká, Vlastimil Hloupý