Červená Lhota Castle
One of our most fairytale castles is located in southern Bohemia, is surrounded by water and is connected to the shore only by a stone bridge. The very location of the chateau, outside the main road, near the forest, in an almost sunken corner in the middle of a pond, the surface of which reflects the red color of the chateau walls literally in all parts of the world, speaks of its romance. The chateau in Červená Lhota is built on a rocky island, it is not very large, but it is extremely picturesque.
Information for visitors
Interesting facts Červená Lhota Castle
It is therefore not surprising that the Červená Lhota chateau appears several times in fairy tales as a backdrop. One of the most famous is Zlatovláska with Petr Štěpánek in the lead role, then O stray princess, Princess on a pea or O beauty and happiness. However, it was not just fairy tales that were filmed here! Among the most famous films that the castle was used to make is definitely Mr. Vok's Weddings.
The castle can be bypassed around the shores of the pond and have its eyes on its exterior from all sides. The chateau pond also offers the possibility to sail around the chateau on a boat.
The last reconstruction of the chateau was completed after 1910, when the chateau was owned by the princes of Schönburg-Hartenstein, after which an authentically furnished apartment on the first floor of the chateau has been preserved to this day. In addition to it, visitors can also see attic rooms and cellars in the chateau, partly sunk into the glass. The Chapel of the Holy Trinity on the hill of the castle park with preserved wall paintings and a wooden ceiling is also accessible.
The village of Lhota was founded in the middle of the 13th century and the first written mention of the local fortress is associated with the year 1465 and the name of Peter of Zásmuk, who inherited it from his father. In the first half of the 16th century, Lhota was bought by the Káb family from Rybňany, during whose ownership the fortress was rebuilt into a Renaissance chateau. The project was developed by the Italian builder Hons Vlach and in 1555 this place is first mentioned as Nová Lhota. As Červená Lhota, the chateau was first marked in 1602 and its name was derived from the bright red chateau walls.
Other owners of the Červená Lhota chateau included Antonio Bruccio, followed by Vilém Slavata of Chlum and Košumberk, during whose reign between 1658 and 1678 the building was transformed into a Baroque chateau, which was used as a summer house.
Červená Lhota Chateau was first opened to the public in 1949.
Author: Andrea Štyndlová