In Cheb, visitors will appreciate and experts will be amazed by the local castle of the Imperial Palatinate type, which is completely unique in the Czech Republic. The German emperor Friedrich Barbarossa stood at its beginnings, but long before its construction there used to be an old Slavic settlement, which was gradually displaced by German settlers during the 12th century. The Counts of Vohburg, who owned the surroundings of Cheb, had a stone castle built here, which was rebuilt into a Palatinate by Friedrich I. Barbarossa. He then used it mainly to stay during his inspection trips in the German Empire.
Information for visitors
Interesting facts Cheb castle
However, the Cheb Palatinate was also used by other emperors, until the time when Cheb became part of the Czech Kingdom again. It happened in 1265 during the reign of Přemysl Otakar II. The final annexation of Cheb to the Czech Kingdom took place in 1322, during the reign of John of Luxembourg.
At the end of the 14th century, the castle was incorporated into the city fortifications and its original purpose began to wane. After the Thirty Years' War, the town of Cheb acquired a Baroque appearance and the same change awaited the castle itself. In 1742, the French invaded Bohemia, the Cheb castle was damaged as a result and began to decay.
However, the castle in Cheb was not rebuilt very often, thanks to which its original appearance of the Romanesque Palatinate has been preserved. The castle basically consists of three buildings. The first is the Romanesque imperial palace with outbuildings on the ground floor. On the first floor of this rectangular building there are living rooms.
The castle is dominated by the Black Tower, also from the Romanesque period, built of volcanic tuff (hence the name). It has a square base measuring 9 x 9 m and 18.5 m high. It originally had three floors and is currently used as a lookout tower.
The most unique part of Cheb Castle is considered to be the double storey chapel of St. Erhard and Ursula.
Author: Andrea Štyndlová