Kámen Castle got its name from the rock on which it stands. It is located in the village of the same name only 15 kilometers from the town of Pelhřimov. In addition to admirers of historical monuments, motorcycle lovers will also enjoy themselves here, because their exposition containing unique pieces is installed right on the castle.
Information for visitors
Interesting facts Kámen castle
The Gothic castle was probably built sometime in the middle of the 13th century, but no mention has been made of its foundation or founder. The first notes about the castle date back to 1316 and deal with its owner Nimír of Kamen. Then there were Mr. Tlusková, supporters of Wenceslas IV. and later the Hussites. At that time, the castle was an important Hussite stronghold between Pelhřimov and Tábor. Other owners of the castle often changed in the following years, until the Malovce family came, under whom the castle experienced its greatest expansion in the 16th century. In later years, the castle only lost its significance, as its owners, mostly the Austrian official nobility, changed again. Václav Ennis from Atter, who had it rebuilt in the second half of the 19th century in the style of English Romantic Gothic, ie in its present form, entered the history of the castle even more significantly. In 1948, the castle was confiscated from its last owner, Antonín Fleissig, but it was already in a state of complete disrepair. Gradually, however, it was reconstructed and since 1974 opened as a Museum of single-track motor vehicles.
A tour of the castle will give visitors an idea of living on it during the 19th and early 20th centuries. In the motorcycle museum, truly unique pieces await you, such as Laurin-Klement motorcycles manufactured in 1902 and 1904 and other exhibits of purely Czech production. The only exception is the foreign Hildebrand-Wolfmüller, which was the first mass-produced motorcycle.
After a tour of the castle and the museum, you can go for a walk in the park with natural alpine, many romantic nooks, ponds and rocks.
Author: Martina Limbergová