In the southeastern part of Prague, in the Průhonice district, we find the famous Neo-Renaissance chateau, surrounded by a large park founded by Count Arnošt Emanuel Silva-Tarrouca in 1885. Not only in the case of the chateau, but especially the park There is a highly valuable dendrological collection - an arboretum with a number of domestic and foreign woody plants. The best known species is the rhododendron.
Information for visitors
Interesting facts Průhonice Chateau
The park covers a total area of 250 hectares and was so large at the time of its establishment. It lies in the charming and rugged valley of the Botič stream and its tributaries. It is characterized by clusters of shrubs, trees and trees, open meadows, but also ponds and streams. The park is interwoven with trails, the total length of which is approximately 40 km.
For the first time, Průhonice is mentioned in historical sources relatively late, in the predicate of Zdislav and Oldřich of Průhonice in 1270, however, their history goes even further, as evidenced by the inscription in the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin Mary, dated to 1187.
The local chateau is a dominant feature not only in the area of Průhonice, but also in the wider landscape. The construction of the new fortress began with the lords of Říčany, who lived on the Průhonice farm until the end of the 14th century, when it became the property of the citizens of Prague. During the Thirty Years' War, the castle was severely damaged and during the 18th century it was used as a farm building.
In 1802, the Průhonice chateau was bought by Count Jan Nostic-Rhieneck, who was responsible for the reconstruction and classicist modification of the chateau. Between 1892 and 1898, the chateau basically acquired its current form, the style of the Czech Renaissance. At that time, the castle was owned by Arnošt Emanuel Silva-Tarrouca.
From 1920, the state that bought it became the owner of the chateau and the adjacent park. In 1954, a geobotanical laboratory was established here.
In 2002, the local park was damaged by a flood from the flooded Botič. Bridges were torn down and roads were damaged, and shortly thereafter the storm worsened the overall condition.
At present, the chateau is used by the Botanical Institute of the ASCR and the Botanical Department of the Museum of Natural History at the National Museum in Prague, while the premises are inaccessible to the public. Visitors can only get to the permanent exhibition, where the memorial hall of Arnošt Emanuel Silva-Tarrouca.
Today, the chateau is a pseudo-Renaissance three-winged building with an arcaded courtyard and a prismatic tower.
Author: Andrea Štyndlová