A charming Rococo chateau in Dobříš, surrounded by an English park and a French garden, can be found in the town of the same name in the district of Příbram near Prague. Its current owner is Dipl. Ing. Jerome Colloredo-Mansfeld and visitors can visit this architectural gem all year round.
Information for visitors
Interesting facts Dobříš
In 1252, this place is first mentioned as a royal farm and since 1262 it has been owned by the Rožumberks. Under the ownership of John of Luxembourg, a castle was built here, which served as the seat of the office of the royal hunter.
Other owners of the castle were the Kolovrats, the Švamberks, the Lobkovics, Ferdinand I. and after him Vilém of Rýzmburk.
Emperor Rudolf II. later he had the temporary residence of the governor built on the site of the castle, which had been deserted for some time, right next to the farmyard. However, the farm was not profitable, and the emperor decided to sell it in 1630, so Dobříš belonged to Count Bruno Mansfeld. Another of the Mansfeld family, František Gundakar, Dobříš then joined his Opočno family states. The Dobříš chateau received its almost present appearance between 1745 and 1765, when it was owned by Jindřich František Mansfeld.
In 1942, the castle fell into the hands of the Nazis and suffered as the seat of the imperial protector. He was returned to the Colloredo-Mansfelds in restitution only in 1998.
The castle has a three-wing layout and a mansard roof. The charming gardens, similar to those in Schönbrunn, are decorated with sculptures by Ignác František Platzer.
In the interior of the Dobříš chateau, a total of eleven rooms await visitors, furnished in the Rococo and Classicism style. The local hall of mirrors is very often used for weddings, which are also a great backdrop for the local French gardens and English park. The castle also provides accommodation in ten 2-bed rooms or a bridal suite. In addition, the castle also has a fitness center.
Author: Andrea Štyndlová