Archbishop's Waterworks Kroměříž
The chateau waterworks in Kroměříž is a unique technical monument, which can be found in the original environment, which has a good technical condition and which perfectly documents the water supply technology of the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century. It belongs to the complex together with the Orlovna Gallery and the Bishop's Mint in Kroměříž.
Information for visitors
Interesting facts Archbishop's Waterworks Kroměříž
Historical sources mention the archbishop's waterworks for the first time in the 17th century. At that time, the old waterworks in the right wing of the archbishop's mill supplied water to the castle, brewery, chapter houses and fountains in the city.
The new waterworks was built by Archbishop Theodor Khon between 1893 and 1904 on the site of the old mill. The older part of the building was later used as a sports facility Orlovna. The waterworks was started in 1903 and in nine years the original drive of the pumps was replaced by three electric motors, for the location of which a wooden engine room was added to the building.
Utility water was pumped to the external water supply system, which passed through Na kopečku Street, from where it was divided into individual branches. The first of them supplied the vegetable garden in the Podzámecká garden and showers at the Bajda swimming pool. From the second branch was supplied a fountain in the Podzámecká garden and wine cellars. The third supplied water supplies to the archbishop's seminary, the laundries of the chapter houses of the Great Square, the rectory of St. Mořice and the city fountain. The last branch supplied the monastery on the Little Wall and the laundry.
The waterworks was operated by an engineer and one assistant. The Archbishop's Waterworks in Kroměříž functioned until 1963, when the original water regime was restored in the Podzámecká Garden, ensured by the flow of water from the Morava River.
Author: Andrea Štyndlová