At the western edge of the fertile Haná and in the north of the Upper Moravian gorge we find Prostějov, a district town belonging to the Olomouc region. The city, where more than 45,000 people live today, has become famous mainly thanks to basketball, ironworks and Haná festivities.
Information for visitors
Interesting facts Prostějov
History of the town
Historical sources mention this place for the first time in connection with the first half of the 12th century, when Prostějov was a small village and owned by the Šelmberks. Prostějov began to boast the title of the town only from 1365, when it was owned by the lords of Kravaře, who founded a monastery here. However, it was later looted during the Hussite wars, and another painful period for Prostějov was represented by the campaign of Albrecht of Austria. The Lords of Kravaře also initiated the establishment of a Jewish community, which was then the second largest in Moravia.
Under other owners, the Pernštejns, the town was surrounded by walls, a town hall and a chateau were built. The Pernštejns in the city supported the Unity of Brethren, which was expelled after the Battle of White Mountain. At that time, the owners of the manor were already Liechtensteins. During the Thirty Years' War, the Swedes looted the Prostějov chateau, to which the nobility did not return, and the building served as a granary and factory. In 1697, a devastating fire broke out in Prostějov and further wounds were inflicted on the town in the form of plague epidemics.
The transformation of the architectural form of Prostějov came in the 18th century, when the Order of Merciful Brothers was invited to Liechtenstein in 1727 to take care of the local monastery, in the vicinity of which the Baroque church of St. Jan Nepomucký. A new monastery with the church of St. Barbara, who was, however, Joseph II. abolished in 1784.
During the 19th century, Prostějov became one of the largest and most important towns in Moravia. The city grew, the walls were demolished, Prostějov was crossed by railway tracks and new suburbs were created. Magnificent burgher houses were built in the Art Nouveau style and modern style. During the 20th century, Prostějov was named a city of fashion due to the textile industry.
Sights and interesting places
It is definitely worth mentioning the parish church of the Exaltation of St. The Cross, the interior of which consists of a reconstruction from the 20th century, in which František Bílek, who is the author of the unique Way of the Cross, also took part.
In the direction west of Prostějov we find the Plumlov chateau, to the east lies Tovačov.
Author: Andrea Štyndlová